Top Ten Books If You Like Once Upon A Time


Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.

So, I don't know about any of you, but I am obsessed with ONCE UPON A TIME, the television show. My friend made me watch it and I have been hooked ever since. I mean, ya'll know how much I love re-tellings. ;) So, I want to share the top ten books for you to read if you like ONCE UPON A TIME, meaning...books relating to the fairytale aliases of some of my favorite characters.

DO NOT HIGHLIGHT ANYTHING IN THE PARENTHESIS IF YOU DO NOT WANT SPOILERS.

~*~Beauty and the Beast: (Belle and Rumpelstiltskin/Mr. Gold)
1. Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge: Really dark, but absolutely breathtaking in every possible way. And, hey, since ONCE UPON A TIME is really dark, I totally approve of this story.
2. Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay: Just as dark in its own way and damn near powerful with its story of true love! 

~*~Little Red Riding Hood: (Ruby)
3. Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce: Pearce knows how to bring a unique spin to a fairytale that can be full of both dark and light. I happen to really like the darkness found in the ONCE UPON A TIME tale and Pearce's writing.
4. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer: On a completely different note, Meyer's retelling has a heroine that is damn strong and near perfect with her own kind of wolf. ;)

~*~Rapunzel: (Rapunzel)
5. Cress by Marissa Meyer: I can honestly say that this is the only Rapunzel retelling I have ever read, but dang, does Marissa Meyer know how to do retellings right.

~*~Robin Hood: (Robin Hood)
6. Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen: Best Robin Hood retelling I have ever read. I am so happy I've forced this one on several of my friends.

~*~The Huntsman (Sheriff Graham)
7. Ash by Malinda Lo: I can't say I loved it, but hey, I love the huntsman, and this is about books having to do with my favorite Storybrooke aliases.

~*~Cinderella  (Ashley Boyd)
8. Cinder by Marissa Meyer: If this cyborg Cindrella tale was not as awesome as it is, the world would be a sad, sad place. Who doesn't love an independent Cinderella?
9. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas: A very loose interpretation, but an awesome interpretation nonetheless (especially book 2 *fans self*)
10. Enchanted by Alethea Kontis: Several fairy tales in there, but the Cinderella storyline is definitely noticeable.

Don't forget to share your TTT's below (and watch ONCE UPON A TIME if you haven't started to already!)

Also...while we are on the topic of ONCE UPON A TIME, I just want to throw out the fact that we are in desperate need of a Captain Hook retelling where Captain Hook is not a bad guy, but a good guy trying to find himself after making some terrible mistakes. My mouth is watering at the idea of such a thing!

5 comments:

  1. OMG, that would be the perfect Captain Hook book! Someone needs to write it and then we could fan girl over it like crazy! I love this list soooo much!
    My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  2. I haven't read this one, but when you said the Captain Hook thing it reminded me of this: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18459893.Second_on_the_Right Haha! I enjoyed this post! :D Great list!

    I love everything Marissa Meyer writes and I can't wait to read Winter. It's so sad that the release date is being pushed back to November 2015 instead of February 2015! *tears*

    ReplyDelete