A Court of Thorns and Roses Blog Tour | Sarah J. Maas's Top 5 Fairytale Retellings


AHHHHHHH!!!!!!! It is here!!!!!!! ACOTAR IS UNLEASHED UPON THE WORLD!!!!!!!!! Okay, now that I've got that out of my system, I was super excited when I was asked to be part of this tour because, hello, Sarah. J. Maas...Queen of YA Fantasy. Anyway, Sarah was awesome enough to stop by and share some of her favorite fantasy retellings with me because I am a fantasy nut just like her. When I heard her second series was going to be a Beauty and the Beast retelling, I seriously forgot how to breathe for a second, so the topic was fitting, don't you think? Check out a little bit about the book then continue on for her amazing list of recommendations and an awesome tour-wide giveaway sponsored by the lovely gals at Bloomsbury.

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

~*~Sarah's Top 5 Fairytale Retellings~*~

Oh, God. Where do I even start with this subject?

Hello, my name is Sarah. I've been a fairy-tale addict since I was in diapers.

You think I'm joking. I'm not. Growing up, I forced my parents to read me every and any fairytale they could get their hands on. And not just Europeans ones--I wanted folktales from around the world. More than that, I wanted stories about cunning, fierce, resourceful heroines. Even at a young age, those were the stories I wanted, I craved.

Growing up, I was no different. And when I learned that there were fairytale retellings? I was a goner.

I could go on and on and on about my lifelong obsession with fairytales and folklore. But I thought I'd compose a list for you all--my Top Five Fairytale Retellings.
Without further ado...  

1. Anything by Robin McKinley. I think she’s the official Queen of retellings. Beauty, Spindle’s End, Deerskin (my favorite), Rose Daughter… McKinley was my gateway drug to not just retellings, but fantasy as well.

2. Black Swan by Mercedes Lackey. I am the biggest balletomane. The biggest. I have season tickets to the American Ballet Theater, and go to see
Swan Lake every year. So when I stumbled across Mercedes Lackey’s retelling of Swan Lake from the point of view of Odile, the black swan, I was in heaven. Plus, it’s got one of the most gorgeous covers/dresses of all time. 

3. The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale. Flawless YA fantasy. Flawless.  

4. Black Ships by Jo Graham. Okay, it’s not a fairy-tale, but it’s a retelling/prologue to The Aeneid and it’s freaking incredible. I wish more people knew about this book.  

5. Everything ever by Patricia A. McKillip. Okay, she doesn’t have retellings, but her writing is literally a fairytale given form. Lovers of fairytales will go nuts over her books. Start with Alphabet ofThorn or The Forgotten Beasts of Eld.

Thank you so much for stopping by, Sarah. I have definitely added some of these to my TBR!

~*~Giveaway~*~
This giveaway is US only and is sponsored by Bloomsbury USA. You must be 14 years or older to enter.
 
a Rafflecopter giveaway
 
Don't forget to check out tomorrow's tour stops at Dark Readers, Fiction in Fiction in Fiction, and Bookish Broads

15 comments:

  1. My favorite fairytale is definitely a tie between Beauty and the Beast and The Little Mermaid. I can't pick and favorite between the two and I won't do it.

    Can't make me. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Beauty and the Beast is rather great! As a child I was obsessed with Cinderella!

      Who could ever really pick a #1 when it comes to fairytales? They're all kind of amazing in their own way.

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Delete
  2. I'm definitely going to read this soon. VERY soon! Great post!! Thanks for sharing. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You will love it, Lisa! I can't wait to hear your thoughts!

      Delete
  3. Ooh, these fairytale retellings sound amazing! I think The Black Swan is the one I'm most intrigued by, and only because I'm obsessed with Swan Lake ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Confession: I have never seen Swan Lake...so I really really have to!

      I definitely want to run out and grab a Robin McKinley actually. Relive my childhood with a book of hers I have not read yet!

      Delete
  4. All time fave is definitely Beauty and the Beast! I was a die hard fan growing up, had EVERYTHING Beauty and the Beast. I guess that's why ACOTAR is so intriguing to me, well, plus it's by Sarah J. Maas, that should speak for itself!! ;)

    Thanks for the AWESOME giveaway!

    Rafflecopter name: Vannah B

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sarah J. Maas totally does speak for herself ;)

      Thank you for stopping by!

      Delete
  5. LOVE ACOTAR! I can't wait to get my shiny hardcover copy when I get home :D And I always love adding new fairy tale retellings to my shelf, I haven't heard of a bunch of these. I did love Spindle's End so I should probably read more Robin McKinley. And I've wanted to read The Goose Girl for a long time! Gosh favorite fairy tale is so hard.... my favorite DISNEY fairy tale is Beauty and the Beast. As far as retellings, I love a classic Cinderella twisted and changed into new visions. But of course I'm always drawn to BatB retellings too ;)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The hardcover is so pretty!!! <3

      The only one that she has recommended that I've read is Spindle's End, too! So I definitely want to check out the others.

      I think Disney's Beauty and the Beast is the overall consensus winner from this post. BUT IT IS SO DESERVING OF IT!!!

      I would love to see a YA Cinderella retelling taking it back to the dark brother's grimm days. Such a great, dark tale that one is.

      Thanks for stopping by Morgan!

      Delete
  6. My favorite fairytale is definitely Rapuznel! I love the magical aspects of the story and it just intrigues me more than any of the other fairytales! I think Disney did a great job with Tangled!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooooh! What a great pick! I haven't seen this one mentioned just yet. Disney totally knocked it out of the park with TANGLED. I would totally watch a TANGLED 2!

      Delete
  7. As a kid, it was Little Red Riding Hood. But I also love Beauty and the Beast (especially that library!) and The Little Mermaid!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I think anyone would be crazy not to love that library!

      Delete
  8. I really want to read this book, definitely added to my TBR list.

    ReplyDelete